Return to Headlines

Chavez Basketball share SSL Championship

The CCHS boy’s basketball concluded the 2018-19 campaign with their awards banquet.  This year’s Varsity award winners: Fernando Carranza (Player of the Year), Adan Arredondo (Offensive Player of the Year), Jesus Lopez (Defensive Player of the Year), Noly Mercado (Coaches Award), Tim Ruiz (Highest GPA) and Andrew Olguin (Most Improved Player). The JV Award winners were: Justin Lawson (Most Improved) and Justin Arellano (Coaches Award).  The Frosh award winners were: Ryan Rojas (Most Improved) and Evan Morris (Coaches Award).

The CCHS Boys Varsity finished the season with a 20-10 record, the SSL Co-Championship, and a Final Four Appearance in the Division 3 Section playoffs.  The team also finished with the highest scoring average (70.5ppg) (2,115 pts) in Division 3 and in a playoff overtime classic, upset the #1 seed Mt. Whitney.

“This year’s journey was extremely rewarding for the coaching staff.  This group of players overcame a 10-18 season from the year before and showed us all what resiliency looks like.  Our core group of guys played hard, play smart, and played together.  We are also extremely proud of sending out our seniors as SSL Champions.  They were a big part in validating our system and style of play.  We wish them all the best on their next chapter. ” Coach Hernandez says, “We look forward to continuing to sacrifice and work hard for our community this off season.  Our guys understand that those that are humble will be left satisfied and those that are satisfied will be humbled. HavoCC!”


Basketball Award recipients